de | en
de | en
Line traffic and scheduled services
Charter trips
Webcams and weather forecasts
Holiday?
Follow us on facebook

The Weissensee - playground of nature

Weissensee lies in the eastern Gailtal Alps in the southwest of Carinthia and is one of the most beautiful lakes in Europe. In 2006 the areas of Weissensee and Stockenboi were declared as a national park. The Weissensee Lake is an especially unspoilt area lying 930m above sea-level with two thirds of it's shores being undeveloped and surrounded by thick forest. There is no through road around the lake. In addition, this region has achieved the high status of the European Award for Tourism and Environment and the area is recognised as a climatic health resort.

The region is popular for people who wish to enjoy activity holidays in beautiful natural surroundings. Weissensee has over the last few years become a centre for visitors to rest and recover and spend their free time, as well as being a location for the more active sports person.

It is a paradise for walking, running, Nordic walking and mountain biking. There are 12 marked running routes as well as 9 Nordic walking trails varying from easy to difficult.

Over 200km of marked footpaths from 930m up to 2300m allow the visitor to exercise in the clear, healthy mountain air. The Weissensee Cruise Line and the chair lift, connect ideally with the network of footpaths.

For the mountain bike enthusiast, there are graded routes over different terrains with varying gradients. There are a number of downhill routes which are demanding and a MTB course is also available forming 150km of tracks which could be linked together with a further 650km MTB stretches in the region of the Drautal, Gitschtal and Gailtal leading to Italy.

In the spring and autumn the Weissensee is an El Dorado for fishing. In summer, the clear, turquoise lake water can be up to 24 degrees making it perfect for swimmers, surfers, divers and canoists. Every hotel and provider of accommodation has it's own bathing area which is an exclusive feature of this region.

The close relationship between high quality sustainable tourism and the conservation of the natural environment is well recognised by the resident population. An emphasis has also been placed on sustaining the cultural heritage of the region. The local community understands that the natural resources to be found in the Nature Park need to be preserved and sustained to ensure their availability for future generations. The whole of the Weissensee region is a conservation area.

de | en
de | en
Linienverkehr und Fahrplan
Charterfahrten
Webcam und Wetterinfos
Urlaub gefällig?
Folge uns auf Facebook

Naturpark Weissensee

Der Weissensee - Spielplatz der Natur

Der Weissensee liegt in den östlichen Gailtaler Alpen im Südwesten von Kärnten und gehört zu den schönsten Badeseen Europas. Die Region Weissensee, mit den Gemeinden Weissensee und Stockenboi, wurde im Jahre 2006 zum Naturpark erklärt. Der Weissensee ist ein besonders naturbelassener Großraum. Zwei Drittel des 930 m hoch gelegenen Seeufers sind unverbaut und von dichten Bergwäldern umgeben. Es gibt keinen Durchzugsverkehr und keine Autostraße rund um den See. Die Region ist außerdem EU-Preisträger für Tourismus und Umwelt und trägt das Prädikat "Heilklimatischer Luftkurort".

Die wirtschaftliche Tätigkeit wird mit Rücksicht auf den Naturraum betrieben. Der Raum Weissensee hat sich in den letzten Jahren und Jahrzehnten zu einem attraktiven Ort für Erholungssuchende, Freizeit- und Profisportler entwickelt.

Ein Paradies zum Wandern und Laufen, Nordic Walking und Mountainbiken. Laufen auf 12 Laufparcours, Nordic Walking auf 9 Trails der unterschiedlichsten Schwierigkeitsstufen.

Wandern im Heilklima auf 200 km markierten Wegen von 930 bis 2300 m Seehöhe mit Linienschifffahrt und Bergbahn als ideale Verbindungen zu den Wanderzielen. Gesund Wandern auf ausgesuchten Wegen lautet das Motto.

Mountainbiken durch abwechslungsreiches Gelände mit knackigen Anstiegen und anspruchsvollen Downhills auf 10 Routen und einem MTB-Technikparcours mit insgesamt 150 km Länge und Anschlussmöglichkeit an weitere 650 km MTB-Strecken in der Umgebung - Drautal, Gitschtal und Gailtal bis nach Italien.

Der Weissensee selbst ist besonders im Frühling und Herbst ein Eldorado zum Fischen. Im Sommer wird das klare, türkisblaue Seewasser bis zu 24 Grad warm und lädt zum Baden, Surfen, Tauchen und Kanufahren ein. Jeder Gastgeber am Weissensee bietet dazu einen hauseigenen Badestrand an - dies ist einzigartig in Österreich.

Der enge Zusammenhang zwischen qualitativ hochwertigen, sanften Tourismus und Erhaltung des Naturraums ist der ansässigen Bevölkerung bereits lange bewusst. Demnach wurden in der Vergangenheit auch beispielhafte Aktionen zur Erhaltung der Kulturlandschaft ins Leben gerufen. Der Naturpark geht zur Gänze aus dem Landschaftsschutzgebiet Weißensee hervor.

Mit den Naturpark ist eine Fortführung der nachhaltigen Wirtschaftsweise in diesem Landschaftsraum gewährleistet und unterstützt naturnahe und ressourcenschonende Erholungsmöglichkeiten.